I Choose My Life…

IchoosemylifeEveryday we make choices: what to eat, what to wear, where to go. Many times, the most important choice gets none of our attention at all: how to live your life. I used to have a great job that I was super passionate about and really good at (being an environmental educator). Then I decided to try being a classroom teacher and I suppose I was pretty good at it, though I didn’t love it. I was stressed, anxious, and all-consumed by this job. I missed my old life where I was a happier person – even SeΓ±or Luma and one of my closest friends missed the “old me” (I used to be happy, vivacious, full of life and enthusiasm).

When I was pregnant with Lumito (#2), I made a conscious choice to change how I was going to live my life… I didn’t want to get to the end of my life and look back to realize that I had been miserable and lived it for other people.

So I did something totally crazy: I quit one is of the most sought-after jobs: a full-time, permanent-with-amazing-pension-and-benefits teaching job with the public school system in Ontario.

But I don’t view it as what I walked away from. I look at it from what I got by leaving. By choosing to leave this job, I chose joy and freedom. When we moved down to Panama, I chose adventure. Now that we are headed off for 3 months if travel through Central America, I choose family.

These days I’m spending less time choosing the little things (my clothes, my breakfast, etc) and more time choosing how I want to live my life.

. A_signature_1FINISHED

Leave a Reply

