You Can’t Win’em All…

I am thrilled with my new bracelets and quite like the display that came together for them.

I am thrilled with my new bracelets and quite like the display that came together for them.

It was bound to happen and I knew that it was eventually coming. It would appear that I just experienced it.

What, you may ask. A show that goes so terriblly that it was so TERRIBLE. This is what I experienced at my last show, this past weekend.

This photo doesn't quite capture the amount of rain that there was.

This photo doesn’t quite capture the amount of rain that there was.

On the Saturday, it rained. Really RAINED! The rain really doesn’t bother me because I have this AMAZING tent and so I stayed dry, even with rivers flowing through the floor of my tent because I was on a slight downward slope. But I have lots of shelving that is my displays so everything was off the ground and despite some damp fabric to cover said shelves, I was dry and happy in my tent. And there were even a few brave shoppers who came out and liked my treasures enough to buy some! One kind customer even watched over my booth TWICE – once so that I could dash to the car to get my jacket (and she lent me her umbrella!) and another time so that I could grab a hot chocolate and a toilet break! And I made friends with my neighbours – a lovely group of young women across from me and a fabulous new shop that opened up earlier in the summer, just down from me. If I had known what was coming the next day, I would have appreciated my Saturday a lot more.

Finally, it stopped raining enough to grab a quick photo of this week's set up.

Finally, it stopped raining enough to grab a quick photo of this week’s set up.

I LOVE this new window that I picked up this past week. I have a few more that I will prepare to use in the future.

I LOVE this new window that I picked up this past week. I have a few more that I will prepare to use in the future.

And then came Sunday. It started out with SUCH promise of a better day. The sun was now shining gloriously, I scored a fabulously close parking spot just around the corner, and the sun dried off my still-damp-from-the-day-before tent. And the people were out en masse! But it was not my day. MY people were not there… You know those people? The ones who LOVE your treasures enough to buy them? I did meet some lovely folks who supported me, but my “sales per capita” were very low… And then the worst thing happened. While I was talking with a couple and their young son, someone stole 6 necklaces from my booth. Yup. It happened and I knew that it was going to at some point and this was the weekend. I looked over to a display to notice it swinging all by itself – there was no wind pushing it… The person had obviously just disappeared quickly, realizing that my spidey-senses were tingling (albeit, a few seconds to late!). I was crushed. The total retail value of the 6 necklaces was close to $350 and I personally LOVED 4 of the necklaces (they were the hollow glass bead necklaces… Guess I will get some more practice at making them!). But it could have been a lot worse: it could have been $350 in CASH that was stolen… By the time it was the end of the day, I just wanted to get home to my family. I managed to find someone to watch my things while I ran to grab my car to load it up, but clearly he didn’t do a great job of watching my stuff as my neighbour stepped out of her shop to see a man picking up the bag with my tent walls and was about to head off with them! Thankfully, she scared him off and I didn’t have to buy a new set up walls… At that point, I couldn’t get my things in the car fast enough!!

This was AMAZING and I thoroughly enjoyed this artisan gelato and cookie sandwich. Unfortunately, I didn't know what was still coming in my day...

This was AMAZING and I thoroughly enjoyed this artisan gelato and cookie sandwich. Unfortunately, I didn’t know what was still coming in my day…

Despite the horrible weekend, nothing is every wasted… Here is what I learned from this disastrous weekend:

  1. NEVER say to yourself “It can only get better”, because that is an invitation for it to get even worse than imaginable!
  2. I will always use my walls when I have displays up against them (I had packed the walls away on Sunday, which allowed the thieft to stand on the outside of my tent, watching me talking with other people, while they took the necklaces).
  3. There are always wonderful, helpful people.

So, I will brush off this terrible weekend, remind the universe that I have now had this experience so don’t need to have another one similar, and look forward to the next show. Which happens to be back in Toronto (I am confident that TO will give me a much nicer experience!). Send me some LOVE this weekend  at the Danforth East Arts Fair at East Lynn Park (at Danforth and Woodbine). I deserve it after last weekend, wouldn’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

