The Evolution of a Craft Show Set-Up

It has been less than a year since I have started this whole craft show endeavour and I am AMAZED and how much things have evolved. As I continue to improve my craft show set up, I think back to previous displays and how much things have changed.

Here is a photo montage of the evolution of my craft show set up over the past year. Something tells me that things will continue to change as I continue to search for the formula for the Magic Set-up.

One of my first set-ups was at the Peterborough Folk Festival. Just 1 table. Things just plunked on the table. Total newbie!

Peterborough Folk Festival, Aug 2012

Peterborough Folk Festival, Aug 2012

The set-up I used at the Artisan Show at George St United Church for Christmas was pretty consistent with the few other set-ups I used for Christmas 2012. I was starting trying to use more height.

Artisan Show at George St United Church, Dec 2012

Artisan Show at George St United Church, Dec 2012

The set-up for both the Shopping from the Heart and Glamour in the Glebe are the beginning of using some my new display items (like the moss-lined trays, and the Β necklace cards) and starting to go vertical.

Glamour in the Glebe, May 2013

Shopping from the Heart, May 2013

The Glamour in the Glebe set-up was identical to the Shopping from the Heart, but a reflection to it – wow, that was tough to set up!!

Glamour in the Glebe, May 2013

Glamour in the Glebe, May 2013

The Buckhorn Spring Craft Show was the first time that I was setting up such a large space. I was thrilled to discover that I could put nails in the walls and hang things.

Buckhorn Spring Craft Show, May 2013

Buckhorn Spring Craft Show, May 2013

The Art Market in Peterborough was a good practice in how to hang things on the “walls” of the tent. It was a windy day and I learned rather fast that fishing line was NOT going to be enough to secure the items that I wanted hanging (even if I tethered them with MORE fishing line!).

Art Market, June 2013

Art Market, June 2013

At Artfest Kingston, I tried out a new a system of hanging things on a cross-bar. It wasn’t ideal, but it was a good start. Also, I started to realize that I didn’t want 2 tables. They make it hard to actually use the vertical space. (I also forgot to bring the framed photographs of my jewellery which was so disappointing!)

Artfest Kingston, June/Jul 2013

Artfest Kingston, June/Jul 2013

I spent a lot of time between Artfest and Mariposa, trying to figure out a new and improved set up. Adding a vertical post to support the horizontal cross bar made a BIG difference. As well, I picked up an antique hay rake to hang some reLuma necklaces on (and put it just outside of my tent to draw people in). I also really love that new white shelf at the front of the tent and am thinking of adding another.

Mariposa Folk Festival, Jul 2013

Mariposa Folk Festival, Jul 2013

I feel that I am closer to being happy with my booth set up, but IΒ might have to make a few more changes!!

Leave a Reply

