Prettying Things Up

I have recently caught on to the fabulousness of Pinterest. I’ve HAD a Pinterest account for a couple of years, but I didn’t do much with it… I have been doing all kinds of learning about WHY I need Pinterest for my business and I even created a new business account for Luma. And I am starting to see why so many people are getting hooked! Just last week, I had a Big Realization – I would rather spend my energy on Pinterest than on Twitter… Peterborough has a VERY active Twitter community and I have tried to jump on board, but I really struggle with Twitter – it is too overwhelming to look at (all those words that just keep streaming down with the #’s and @’s breaking up the already broken up sentences…).

But Pinterest is ALL ABOUT the pictures and being the visual person that I am, I am LOVING the pictures! And I have recently clued in to using the search function in the upper left hand corner and now I am finding ALL kinds of new things!

Which bring us to today’s project: prettying things up! Late last night, I stumbled upon this image via Pinterest and made immediate plans to put it in to action TODAY! Considering I have 8 tires kicking around my backyard (and have NO IDEA why I have 8 tires back there…), one of which will become a tire swing so that left 7 to play with!

Of I went to our fabulous farmer’s market to grab some annuals, popped in to the Big Box Hardware Store (and the Lumitos got to ride in the race car cart so they were happy to run that errand with me!) to pick up the soil and hanging hooks to hang the tires, and then came home to get started!

2013-06-01 13.32.30

Step #1 – drill holes in the bottom so that the extra water can drain (use a BIG drill bit – trust me! I started with a smaller one that I had kicking around and it did nothing. Moved up to a bigger size, still not much water dripping through. In the end, I settled on the biggest bit I had in the kit, a 3/8 bit. But pre-drill with the smaller bit… Did you know that there is metal in a tire?? It is actually like a wire mesh and was rather challenging to drill through – increasing the drill bit in 3 increments seemed to make it more manageable).

2013-06-01 13.36.24

Step #2 – give the tires a bit of a scrub to get rid of some of the grime and grub with some soapy water and steel wool. (You can actually flip these steps #1 and #2 around – I totally trust your ability to make that decision!). And to be totally transparent here, I gave a half-hearted attempt at scrubbing the tires… I mean, they’re OLD TIRES – they’re hardly going to look all new and pretty!

Step #3 – hang it up (I used these hangers which I hoped would fit the width of the tires, but they didn’t work quite like I’d thought – I had to do some SERIOUS work to convince the tire to hook on the way I’d envisioned). Hanging them up before planting will be easier for the hanging process, though you could plant and then hang, if you wanted (you might notice that there are no hard and fast rules here!).

2013-06-01 14.10.39

Step #4 – add some broken pots, tire, gravel (or whatever) to improve the drainage.

2013-06-01 14.13.11

Step #5 – add soil (I totally caved and bought this more expensive, name-brand soil… I NEVER do that – just mix up the stuff myself. But having my 2 “helpers” with me, I was prioritizing convenience and bought in to the marketing of it!).

Step #6 – add plants and water!

2013-06-01 14.27.24

Step #7 – mix yourself up a G&T, Shirley Temple, Berry Water, or whatever bevvie you enjoy after a day in the garden prettying things up, sit back, and enjoy the beauty of old tires…

2013-06-01 14.29.28

Have YOU tackled any Pinterest projects that you are willing to share or have your experiences been a bit more closely related to this site?

Leave a Reply

